skip navigation

WICHITA FALLS —Eight Wichita County arts individuals and organizations will be honored at the inaugural Arts and Cultural Empowerment (ACE) Awards luncheon presented by the Wichita Falls Alliance for Arts and Culture. 

The awards recognize and honor artists, art leaders, businesses, organizations, and individuals who have displayed consistent and exemplary support of the arts and culture in Wichita County. 

Jurors Carlos Aleman, Glen Bacus, Patricia Dillmon, Brenda Jarrett, and Crimson Shults reviewed 70 nominations. 

The finalists in each category are: 

Outstanding Arts Educator 

  • Gary Kingcade, Artist
  • Jessica B. Johnson, Wichita Falls ISD
  • Dr. Matthew Luttrell, MSU Texas

Business Champion of the Arts 

  • 9th Street Studios 
  • Danny Martinez
  • KFDX/KJTL/Texoma’s Homepage

The Maker Award 

  • Court Glenn, Embroidery Artist
  • Katie Britt, Katiedid Designz

Distinguished Artist of the Year 

  • Kim Ward, The Artistry
  • Mishic and Val Liberatore, Wichita Falls Ballet Theater
  • Morgan Mallory, MSU Texas

Distinguished Cultural Organization 

  • Arts Council Wichita Falls Area, Inc.
  • Wichita Falls Symphony Orchestra 
  • Zavala Hispanic Cultural Initiative

Inclusion Advancement Award 

  • 9th Street Studios 
  • Sigma Lambda Alpha Sorority, Inc. 
  • Wichita Falls Youth Symphony Orchestra 

Margie J. Reese Innovation Award 

  • Adam Lynskey, Wichita Christian School
  • Bob Barrow & Art Battle
  • Ismael Duran, Potencia Projects 

Additionally, Wichita Falls Mayor Stephen Santellana will present the Mayor’s Choice Award honoring an individual or organization that has made a significant contribution to the arts and cultural climate of the City of Wichita Falls. 

The honorees in each category will be announced at The ACE Awards luncheon on October 19th, 2022, at 11:30 a.m. at the Wichita Falls Regional Airport. Tickets may be purchased here. For more information on the ACE Awards, click here.