skip navigation

To celebrate Women’s History Month, the Wichita Falls Alliance for Arts and Culture is excited to announce a special ceremony to honor the “First Females” of Wichita Falls.

A portrait unveiling ceremony took place on Tuesday, March 7th, during the regular session of the Wichita Falls City Council meeting. It followed a proclamation recognizing Women’s History Month.

The women being honored at the ceremony have each made significant contributions to the Wichita Falls community and made history in their respective fields. The honorees include:

  • Arthur Bea Williams: First African American female mayor, Wichita County judge, and justice of the peace
  • Charlye Farris: First female African American attorney in Texas and female attorney to practice in Wichita Falls
  • Delfina Palacios Martinez: First Hispanic teacher and principal for Wichita Falls ISD
  • Kay Yeager: First female mayor of the City of Wichita Falls
  • Myrtle Hirschi Ledford: First female city councilor in Wichita Falls

“We are excited to celebrate these incredible women and their contributions to the Wichita Falls community,” said Ann Arnold-Ogden, Executive Director of the Wichita Falls Alliance for Arts and Culture. “Their achievements and the barriers they broke down are an inspiration to all of us, and we are honored to have their portraits on display throughout March.”

The portraits are created by Wichita Falls Artist Aaron Soto and will be on display at the Wichita Falls City Hall and the Wichita Falls Public Library until the end of the month. The research behind these portraits came from Becky Trammell and Elizabeth B. Hawley, who wrote Women of Wichita County Texas: Stories About Remarkable Women. You can purchase it at the Museum of North Texas History.